March 13, 2015

Catahoula Parish Boundary Change of 1852

North/Central Louisiana in 1848
The above map of 1848 shows the northern/central portion of Louisiana following the political boundary changes of 1814 and 1828 as well as the changes of 1838 and 1843.  Other changes occurred to this section of the state after 1843 which included the creation of Jackson Parish in 1845.

Catahoula Parish is shown surrounded by the parishes of Jackson, Caldwell and Franklin to the north, Tensas and Concordia to the east, Avoyelles and Rapides to the south and Natchitoches to the west.

In 1852 the parish of Winn was created from Catahoula, Natchitoches and Rapides parishes.  The map below shows these boundary changes.

Louisiana - 1852


1 comment: